Meeting with representatives of the embassy of the Republic of Cameroon

During the World Festival of Youth and Students, which took place in Sochi from 15th October to 22nd October, 2017, a number of working meetings were held. USTU met with diplomatic representatives, as well as youth and students of countries participating in the Festival. On 19th October, the head of the international department of USTU Anton Grigoriev met with the adviser for culture and education of the Embassy of the Republic of Cameroon in the Russian Federation Jean Cottin Kouma, as well as the diplomatic officials of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Cameroon, who came to the Festival in Sochi.               

During the meeting participants discussed the current state and prospects for the possible development of bilateral relations in the field of science, education and culture between the Republic of Cameroon and the Russian Federation, including cooperation in the part of training international students from Cameroon at Ukhta State Technical University.

Representatives of the Embassy of the Republic of Cameroon showed great interest in developing cooperation with Ukhta State Technical University. As a result of the meeting, an agreement was reached to visit USTU by the delegation with the purpose of acquiring more detailed knowledge of the infrastructure of the university complex in Ukhta, as well as working together to increase the number of students from Cameroon at USTU next academic year on priority areas for the Republic of Cameroon.

In addition, the participants of the meeting mutually visited the exhibition stands of the Republic of Komi and the Republic of Cameroon, where they got acquainted with the history, traditions and culture of the regions.

Currently, about 500 students from 30 countries of distant and near abroad are studying at USTU (including Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Angola, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ghana, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, India, Cameroon, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Serbia, Sudan, Equatorial Guinea and other countries). For more information, visit the International Department.